Where I’m at…

So after my last post about how I’d fallen off the waggon I’ve completely neglected my little personal blog. However, I’m happy to report that I’m still very much working on improving my running (jogging slowly). 


Running and fitness. 

I finally defeated W4D1 of C25k!! Admittedly I had to have slightly longer walking breaks between the running periods but I completed all of the running parts and was so so proud of myself! 

I’ve only attempted D2 once and was going pretty well until some grown men with a remote control car scared the dog, resulting in her sprinting away terrified across the field and me having to chase her. Needless to say I did not have it in me to complete after that. 

As I’ve previously mentioned C25k isn’t really fitting me as well as I’d hoped so I’ve been doing a lot of other running between sessions; intervals or just jogging/walking for the hell of it with no set times or measurements. One evening I really just wanted to run so I went out in the rain, found a trail and just went for it. The air was warm, the rain was cold, and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I don’t even know how far I went or at what pace but it was lovely. 

As before, my very inconsistent Nurse rota is a bit of an issue as I’m trying to give myself rest days but then sometimes can go 4 days without a jog because I’m working nights or have been in work and don’t want to run after a 12 hour shift on my feet. Having said that, doing shorter jogs and not pushing C25k is easier on my legs so I could do a quick jog around the block. 

I’m also doing a lot of walking lately which the dog is loving! We’ve been out exploring so much in the last month and it’s a nice change from the park I was doing laps in – much more interesting! 

My ever ticking mind…

The increase in exercise has done worlds of good. I feel better both physically and mentally; I’ve improved my diet drastically to fuel my body, losing weight in the process and feel much more comfortable with my body, and now have an outlet when my thoughts are tumbling around. 

I think I’ll always be a slave to my hormones and am pretty awful a week before my period but for the rest of the month I’m feeling much more content, or when I’m not I have a way to make myself feel better. I still tick over while I’m running but it’s much better to think about my speed, my breathing, watching my footing on uneven ground than it is to fume about the clutter in my living room or the fact next doors cat keeps shitting in my front garden! 

When I started I never truely believed I would finish C25k and although I’m doing it less and less I’m not upset about that – I’m accepting the fact that being rigid isn’t working for me. I’m improving nonetheless and that’s all that matters. 

Fitbit

A little mention about my Fitbit – I’m obsessed! I always thought they were a silly gimmick but as someone who tends to focus on numbers I find myself wandering up and down the stairs or around the block to hit my daily goal. I only had a Fitbit One because in work I have to be bare below the elbow but I’ve now bought a Charge 2 aswell and wear that when I’m jogging. I love looking at which HR zones I’ve been been in!

And so… 

I may not be exactly be on the course I originally planned and my 3 month C25k subscription has run out. I will renew it after I finish my night shifts next week because I still ultimately want to complete it. Regardless of how long it is taking, my lifestyle has dramatically improved and I’m very glad of it. 

Leave a Reply

