Week 2 Day 2

Yesterday I had some bad news and was desperate to go out and lose myself in breathless oblivion. However, both of my shins were a bit tender and left knee was niggling, so I chose to rest instead. I’m not sure if I’m being a bit of a hypochondriac; as a chronic overthinker, as well as a nurse (trained to look at signs and symptoms), I was probably being a bit dramatic. However, I’ve been doing a lot of reading, and injury in new runners appears to be a common problem, so I abstained. 

Consequently, I was very much looking forward to my run today. Today I went to the local park/fields. It is a lot more exposed than the woods. The day is once again grey and windy… but so far no rain! As always I began with a warm up walk, and today’s programme was the same as yesterday. 

1.5 minute run / 2 minute walk (x4)

1 minute run / 1 minute walk (x2)

Today I found it very difficult to catch my breath. My chest was tight and I really struggled to regulate my breathing.  Twice I was considering stopping to walk when I got to the end of a running stage. I pushed through, but admittedly found it very difficult. At one stage I decided to alter the route I was running to avoid a very minor incline. To be honest I think it was more of psychological hurdle, but it made me feel better nonetheless. 

I was very annoyed with myself when I realised a few minutes in that I had forgotten to start my Fitbit timer! I always wait until the end of my warm-up walk to start it and then stop it before my cool-down walk but got lost in the running and forgot. I suppose in the grand scheme of things it isn’t a big deal, after all I did the session, but I like to compare the kilometre splits. 

So below are the limited stats from the 5k Runner app. 

As you can see I did my own thing in terms of a route. The time and distance also include both 5 minute warm-up and cool-down walks. 

This is the incomplete Fitbit version. 




Observations

  1. I am much more self-conscious knowing that people can see me from across a field. I probably look ridiculous.
  2. I was quite upset by how much I struggled today. It didn’t even rain. 
  3. The fact that I can’t accurately compare w2d1 and w2d2 frustrates me. 
  4. I should stop moaning – I finished the run didn’t I?! 

For the next three nights I will be working 19:45 to 08:15. I definitely won’t run tomorrow, but would like to think I will on  Sunday morning on the way home from work. This may be a bad idea due to being tired, but if I don’t go Sunday morning I won’t have managed three runs in a week and will regret it. I’ll have to make sure I eat in work beforehand. Also, I’m a bit  concerned that I won’t be able to manage the step-up in the next session, so may well decide to repeat this one. 

Who knows. The weather may be awful. My shift may be awful. Only time will tell! 

Leave a Reply

